Folded Pages In My Art Journal

Folding Pages in Art Journal

I saw this technique in The Journal Junkies Workshop by Eric M. Scott and David R. Modler. a treasure I found on a sale rack at Once Around. It is an easy and effective way to create interesting journal pages.

This is a work-in-progress,  and I want to share it, even though I’m not done.  Last week was a very busy week at work and on Friday I had a cracked tooth extracted, which kind of knocked me out of most of the weekend.  I’ve been thinking about crafting more than actually doing it.

First I needed to clean up my craft desk.  Yes, those are Easter eggs on it as well as bits and pieces of several other projects.

Miss Messy Desk

Then I got out the supplies I would be using: glue stick, gesso, ink, water color paints, water color crayons and the assorted pens and brushes that live on top of the desk all the time.

Neater Desk

Next I prepped several pages – I usually use a glue stick to glue three pages together for sturdiness but for this technique I want the pages to fold easily, so I adhered only two pages together than gave them a coat of gesso.

If you use a blank journal, you would skip this step and go on to the next one.

Gesso'd pages

After preparing four pages, I fold the two middle pages so the outside edge came to the center crease.

First Fold

The page on the left side is folded in going to the right.

Second Fold

The page on the right is folded in going to the left, so the two outside edges of the page now meet in the middle.

Once you’ve creased the the folds, unfold the pages.  I’ve numbered the sections of the pages, but just for blogging purposes.

Number Sections with Washi

Next Numbered Set

The numbers are to show how you can now fold the pages into various configurations and see how they interact with each other.

Above, sections 1 and 2 are on the first page with no fold.  Then 3 and 4 are on one side of the first folded page. Turn the page and you see sections 5 and 6 are the other side of that same page.  Sections 7 and 8 are one side of the second folded page, etc.

Here you can see which sections are showing if I fold my two pages to the middle.

1, 4, 9, 12

For a better illustration, let me show you how it looks with some text.

comfort

On my first page, I wrote “Comfort” with the first three letters in section one and the rest of the word in section two.  I’m playing with different fonts for the various syllables.

Community

I flipped a folded page over the second half of the word “Comfort” and finished the word “Community.”  I’ve also added lots of color and layers of shapes and collage to the pages.

Creativity

When I open and turn the page on the left, “ity” is left from “Community” and I fill in the start of the word “Creativity.”

Communicate

More folding and now I’ve got “Communicate.”

Comedy

With both inside pages folded, I’ve made “Comedy.”

Now I have all these pages and words or themes to play with.   I’ll work on one page, then fold a section in or out to see how it interacts with the other pages.

Envelope lining

A bit of blue texture started with some pieces of torn envelope lining that I glued on a page.  Now I’m including that pattern in each page, mostly copying it by hand with a blue marker.

stamp and postmark

I’ve used washi tape, and international stamps that Rem saves for me from the ham radio contacts he makes

washi and stamps

I have one stencil and created another from the backing of a sheet of stickers, sponging ink over it then peeling it away leaving blue ink dots.

Comfort with extra text

I’m playing with circles and colors.

Circles

The only trick is to make sure the segments of the words you write fit into the sections, and that they will show when you fold or unfold the page.

I have lots of space to play with more shapes, colors and layers.  I’ll post an update when I finish these pages.

Thank you, as always, for your visit.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Art Journal Pages, Crafts

2 responses to “Folded Pages In My Art Journal

  1. This so creative! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fourth Anniversary Blog Post! | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

