Skydiving Video & FAQ’s

3 seconds into dive

Here is a link to the video from our skydiving adventure on Rem’s birthday.  Make it full-screen for the best viewing experience!

In the photo, above, you can just see the plane by the instructor’s head.

There is a little bit of strong language, so consider yourself warned.

Since we made our jump, I’ve answered a few questions about the event.  So here are a few Skydiving FAQ’s:

Q:  Did you jump from a plane?

A:  Yes.  A very small plane.

Q:  Does it feel like a roller coaster when you jump? 

A:  No.  Neither of us had that lose-your-stomach kind of feeling.

Q:  What does it feel like?

A:  When my chute opened, my harness became very uncomfortable.  Like getting a mammogram uncomfortable.  But I’m a plus-size woman and I’m sure that made it more uncomfortable for me.  Rem said his wasn’t uncomfortable.

At first, it is really noisy with wind and pressure and you don’t know what is going on.  It is a huge adrenalin rush.  After the chute opens, it is very gentle floating.  Except for the harness discomfort, it was really amazing.

Unfortunately, my goggles weren’t on snug enough and they were pushed up on my face and so I really could not open my eyes during the free fall.  I’m still not sure if that was a bad thing.

Q:  Are you crazy?

A:  No. Well, maybe, but I’m glad I did it.  I felt as if I would regret it more NOT doing it than doing it.

Q:  Have you always wanted to do this?

A:  Nope.  But Rem said he’s been wanting to for years and I just decided to go for it.  When I was in my 20’s I toyed with the idea but never acted on it and haven’t felt a pressing need to do it.

Thumbs up

Q:  Were you scared?

A:  YES!  Very scared.

Q: Was Rem scared?

A:  I don’t think so.  He really had a blast.

Q:  How high did you jump from?

A:  12,000 feet.

Q:  How long did the free-fall last?

A:  A little less than a minute.  But it seemed like a very long minute.

Q:  How long was the rest of the ride  (once the parachute was opened)?

A: About four or five minutes.  Rem’s instructor did some fancy loops and turns that took them down faster even though they jumped after me and my instructor.

Q:  How was your landing?

A:  Great.  Rem landed on his feet.  My instructor had us land on our rear ends and it was really gentle.  No sprains or broken bones, no scrapes, bumps or bruises.

Q:  Will you do it again?

A:  Doubtful.  But I didn’t expect to do this at all.  So anything is possible.

Back on earth

In the video, just after our chute has opened, the instructor, Cliff, asks if I “had fun,” I was still in a state of mental chaos. My response is a squeak but what I said was “I think so.”

At about 1:07 on the video, you can see the little step or platform out the window of the plane.  This is where we put our feet just before jumping.  The door of the plane is opened, and we scooched into position sitting in the open doorway with our feet on that platform, I grabbed the straps of my harness and the pilot tipped the plane. Cliff, my instructor, pushes off as we drop away from the plane.  It wasn’t like “1-2-3-JUMP!”

By the way, when doing tandem jumps, the instructors have reserve parachutes should the main chute fail to deploy.  There is also a device that will activate the reserve chute if a certain altitude is reached without the main chute being opened.  Although I didn’t know this last Sunday, I’m comforted by the idea.

I also read that a person is more likely to die being hit by lightning than doing a tandem skydive.

Thank you for all the great responses to our adventure.  See more pictures and read the post about our jump here.

Credit to Cliff and Tyler of NorCal Skydiving for video and still footage.  Rem took a few stills used in the video.  A big thank you to Rem for editing it into one piece. ♥

5 Comments

Filed under Life

5 responses to “Skydiving Video & FAQ’s

  1. awesome…still don’t want to do this!

  2. Margaret Melsh

    Unbelievable! Amazing! Brave!

  3. Pingback: My Little Fitbit | dianne faw

  4. Pingback: Haircut | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

