Plants in the Patio

Pots in the Patio

My patio project is, in reality, never going to be done.  I somehow manage to under-water or over-water my plants.  But it looks pretty nice these days so before I kill something else, I thought I’d share some photos.

This is a part three of my little patio makeover.  Last September was the first stage.  It was a great start and a huge improvement.  Just a few weeks ago I finally pulled together a table, umbrella, chairs and cushions for the second phase.  I’m really pleased by what a difference these items have made and I’m happy to see them every time I walk through the patio.

Rem listed the other chairs we decided we didn’t really like (not these ones) on Freecycle and found someone very happy to take them off our hands.

Table & hanging pots

The latest addition are the pots that hang on the fence.  I got them from my sister, Kathleen, and had them rattling around in my trunk for awhile.  I moved them into storage over the winter and finally got them planted and in place.

Pots on Fence close up

They are little metal baskets holding terracotta pots that hook onto the fence.  It doesn’t really hide or disguise the fence but the bright pops of color draw your eyes away from the gravel, cement and chain links around them.

one pot on fence

My idea is to change out the plants throughout the year.  Maybe mums in the fall and poinsettia’s at Christmas time.  Or, knowing me and my brown thumb, I can always just stack them back in the storage area.

For now they look nice in the corner with the new outdoor furniture.  As for the plants around our front door area, I added more succulents to replace some of the plants that were struggling.  A rosemary topiary is a little dried out but I think it’s going to be ok.

New pot of succulents

Big rosemary

Freezing weather took out the mint but it came back.  Then scorching weather flattened it but it came back again.

Mint in blue pot

Tripod stand

Another succulent in a small pot looks nice in this tripod stand we got at Urban Ore in Berkeley.

Spider Plant

The spider plant is thriving, the succulents look good and the rosemary…well, it’s not in the best shape.  But maybe it will survive.

Kitteh

The neighbors cat, Kitty, or as Rem has dubbed her, Kitty McNibblit, adds to the warm and welcoming feel of the patio.  She’s very friendly and when she’s outside she’ll greet anyone who walks by, rolling over and meowing for petting and treats.

Angled umbrella

Even though I don’t sit out here every day, it is attractive.  Sometimes when I walk through the patio on the way to work, just seeing this inviting spot makes me anticipate the end of the day or the weekend when I know I’ll spend some time under the umbrella, enjoying the flowers, the sunshine, a book and a snack.  In fact, I think I’ll go out there right now.

Thanks for the visit.

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “Plants in the Patio

  1. Can’t beat sitting outside. Looking most inviting.

  2. Pingback: Happy Halloween, 2014! | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

