My Little Fitbit

10,000 + Steps

My dad used to say “Horses sweat. Men perspire. Women glow.” If that’s true, I’ve been doing a heck of a lot of glowing in the last few days.

For a variety of reasons and after some unscientific research, I decided to get myself a Fitbit One activity tracker – a glorified pedometer to some people.  I’ve been unhappy with my current fitness and weight.  I decided that if I am brave enough to jump out of an airplane, then I am brave enough to face reality and start doing something about my health.  Like moving more and making better choices about what I eat.

Logging 10,000 steps a day is my goal.  First I thought I would wear it for a week and see how I was doing and what my average was. Typically I work out three mornings at the gym, attend one evening Jazzercise class during the work week and walk or hike with my sister Kathleen every Saturday.  In the last few months my activity level hasn’t been as high as I would like and I only have myself to blame.

I jumped right in on Saturday and that day logged 10, 586 steps.  On Sunday I managed 12, 670.  Yesterday was just my third day and I was feeling kind of tired.  Like maybe I should have started out a bit more moderately and increased the steps over a few weeks.  On the other hand, I also wanted to get some new workout clothing and figured that walking around some stores after dinner would increase my step total.  I didn’t find plus-sized gear but I got those 10,835 steps in!  I was tired but proud of myself.

It would be cool to look at my “dashboard” on a smart phone and click through the data but I enjoy doing it after work on my laptop. I can also click a button on my little Fitbit One and check my step total, distance, etc.  When I’m active, a little flower grows taller and when I open my dashboard at the end of the evening, I get a big happy face and “hooray” when I achieve my goals (which I can change, by the way).  I’m finding all of this motivating.  But I’m also a bit footsore and still needed more workout wear.  I guess I’ll do some online shopping..but I can’t count steps for that.

At work I’m getting up from my desk more often and walking the long way to use the restroom.  When I walk to the mail room, I go the longest way I can think of. Parking further from the library gained me some steps the other day.  It is like putting a little bit of change into a jar and then counting it up and putting it in the bank and seeing it grow over time.

A friend says she holds a “soft” goal in her head of 7,500 steps and feels ok if she hits that and doesn’t make it to 10,000 every day.  I believe balance is good in my life and though I know that walking every day will help me to feel healthier, reduce both my waist and stress level, boost my energy and mood and decrease my risk for heart disease, there is no magic that happens at 10,000 steps. If I’m neglecting other things to reach my step goal, that isn’t the best result.

But, yes, I admit I walked around the block after Jazzercise tonight. 10,369. Hooray!

Thanks for stopping by.

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Life

5 responses to “My Little Fitbit

  1. Becky

    Way to go girl! We just started getting back into the gym and hiking as well. Tis the season!

    • Good for us! Making the best of the lovely, long days. But I’m already thinking “how long will it last when the days get colder and shorter?” I need to enjoy it while I can.

  2. Joan

    I like my pedometer also. I wear it on my left foot brace my problem that when I bag up the trash bags to tie them sometimes it comes off and I do not realize it. This is at Sun Valley Community Center I n Louisville, Ky. I have a new one and I will try again tomorrow, Wish me luck.

  3. Pingback: Fourth Anniversary Blog Post! | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

