Art Journal: Inchies

Inchies Two Page Spread

August was a month for healing and building up my stamina.  Oral surgery on July 31st really sapped my energy and I have done very little crafting.  I’m almost back to my regular work-out routine and finally have some time and energy left for crafting.

Inchies are 1″ x 1″ decorated squares of paper or fiber and are mini works of art – they can be painted, collaged, stamped or hand-drawn.  They are sometimes traded in sets of 6, 9 or 12, but I made them for my Art Journal.  I used many types of paper including watercolor paper, card stock, magazine pages, maps, sheet music, vellum, old calendars, dictionary pages, and other paper ephemera.

4 inchies

When I started, I thought I would do a page of inchies. I laid them out in rows of 4 but I decided rows of 5 would look better.  Once I filled one page, I kept going until I completed 70 inchies.  I found the small size very satisfying and delighted in coming up with different designs and embellishments.

70 inchies

Multicolored stripes from an ad in a magazine were used as waves in the ocean and as a cheerful background for a happy face sticker.

Just another fish in the ocean

A scrap of paper doily inked a blue-purple became a lace fan for a sketch of a Spanish lady.

Spanish Fan

Although I used many different colors, I stuck with orange and green with some purple for my overall color theme.

Mostly Orange

Mostly Green

I looked at things with an eye to how they might be transformed into an inchie: junk mail with a picture of an orange safety vest became a square, parts of a chocolate bar wrapper appear on three squares, and a business card for a Psychic I found on an early morning walk made two inchies with the addition of some washi tape and sequins.

Tarot

Palm Reading

I made tiny collages with layers of different paper.  I searched through my scraps for little bits and pieces to use.

tiny collages

When I completed enough for both pages, I had to decide on the layout.

Draft layout

After gluing all the squares in place, I realized my little crescent moon was upside down, so I carefully peeled it off the page and put it on correctly.

Moon & Sun

I don’t know that I’ve gotten this little inchie-bug out of my system.  I think maybe a birthday card made with inchies will be my next project.

Sorry for my lack of posts in August. Thank you for your support, patience and continued visits.

Alarm Clock

 

 

 

14 Comments

Filed under Art Journal Pages, Crafts

14 responses to “Art Journal: Inchies

  1. They are just so pretty and inspiring

  2. Margaret Melsh

    Love this — you’re inspiring me to do it too! Thanks for sharing.

  3. violetannie63

    Oh I love these – now I want to make some! Glad you’re feeling a bit better – hope the healing process speeds up now and you’re soon 100% 🙂

    • Thanks. I’m also very glad to be feeling better because I’d much rather be crafting then resting. I look forward to seeing inchie creations in the near future on your blog.

  4. of course Ilm glad you are feeling better!…and I love the inchies…but, oh…so time consuming…I can see how you want to make more and more though!

    • Ahh, Marilyn. I don’t usually look at any crafting projects as time consuming. Time I could be cleaning house. Yeah, crafting wins. Time I could be watching TV. Crafting again. Time I must be at work. Drat. Crafting loses. One thing that is nice is if you have a small amount of time, doing one or two inchies is great because you can actually do a few in a short time.

  5. HannahJ

    I think I have just found my next project, thanks for the inspiration, I love it!!

  6. Pingback: Nifty Fifty Inchies Card | dianne faw

  7. Pingback: Art Journal: Home | dianne faw

  8. Pingback: Fourth Anniversary Blog Post! | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

