Nifty Fifty Inchies Card

Nifty Fifty Inchies Card

Here’s another inchies project – a card celebrating my friend Maria’s 50th birthday.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Maria! Yes, you can celebrate all week, or do what I do and celebrate birthday month!  With a day that started with chocolate and included champagne, and lots of laughter with friends, she observed her special day in style.

A milestone birthday was a good reason for creating this card.  I enjoyed my previous inchies project and confess to making another that I didn’t share here because I forgot to take pictures.Angled 50

Most of the time for this card was spent looking through my bits and pieces of paper ephemera to find  as many variations of 50 that I could.

50 degrees

An old dictionary provided a definition, artwork showing a celestial chart and decorative paper with tape measure designs are a few of the things I found.  A small calender page just needed a little editing – I think I created the month of Maytober.

Sparkly 50

Maria is a math instructor so Exercise 50 from an old math textbook was perfect.  A pink square with large white numerals just needed some sparkle to be included.  A glue pen and glitter took care of that.  Every inchie didn’t have a 50 on it.  I wanted to get some other sweet images, more color and more pizzazz, so I added a small tag with a stamped heart, washi tape and printed paper with some gel pen embellishment.

Complete Poems

An old British map, the back cover from sheet music and a Japanese postage stamp all made the cut.  I wanted to include polka dots and the color pink, two things I associate with Maria.  I added a punched out star to the little “Wish” embellishment.

The finishing touch is the gold number 50 stickers called thickers.  A thank you to Carson for writing about crafting with thickers – I was convinced I needed these in my craft arsenal and they really complete this design.

Gold Thickers

All the very best to you, Maria.  I really do think you are nifty, smart and absolutely hilarious!  I was delighted to celebrate your special day with you.

Thank you all for the visit.  This is my 400th blog post!

Bright gold

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts

2 responses to “Nifty Fifty Inchies Card

  1. Great card Dianne, and yes the thickers finish it off beautufully! It’s hard to believe you’re on post number 400! Way to go you amazing blogger you! You continue to be such an inspiration to me! Hope you’re well, and please wish Maria a happy birthday from me!

    • Thank you, Carson and as far as inspiration, you are awesome! I don’t know how you manage to do any crafting with your two kiddos. I’m doing very well and looking forward to more craft time. We’re leaving for Sea Ranch tomorrow morning for 5 lovely days.

Leave a Reply

