Silly Spiders and Yummy Mummies

Mummies and Spider

I’ve got two quick and easy little projects for you.  To tell you the truth, I think the little spiders are cute but I’m not entirely sold on the mummies.  However, since I’ve made them, I may as well share them and let you decide if you like them or not.

spiders in pumpkin tree

The spiders look pretty adorable and goofy and if you made a few Little Yarn Pumpkins, these spiders go well with them.

Spiders and Pumpkins

Now before I go any further, I have to include this disclaimer: I know spiders have eight legs and mine only have six and they’re also pretty much missing a body.  You can make more realistic spiders, if you prefer, and I made one just to show you that I could:

8-legged spider

But the following directions are for rare 6-legged spiders.

Spider supplies

You will use two black pipe cleaners, googly eyes, adhesive if the eyes are not self-stick (I used small glue dots) and a pair of scissors that you can use to cut the pipe cleaners.  In some craft stores and sites, pipe cleaners are called Chenille Stems, but they’re really the same thing.

Cut the two pipe cleaners in half, making four pieces.

Four Half Pipe Cleaners

Twist three of the pieces together right in the middle, twisting a few times.

Twisted Pieces

Wind the last piece around the twist in the middle, going around three or four times with each wrap next to the one before, not on top of it.  Then turn back and wrap a second layer of pipe cleaner over the first.  It should be snugly wrapped, but not too tight.

Wrapped center

At this point, it kind of looks like a spider that has had an unfortunate encounter with a shoe.

Make bends at the ends of each leg for little spider feet.

Flat Spider

Then bend each leg so the bend is higher than the body – kind of making it shrug it’s little spider shoulders.

Spider shoulders

Now you just need to add eyes.  You can put on as many or as few as you like, but I generally go with two.  I use small glue dots to adhere the googly eyes.

A reminder about using glue dots: take the embellishment, in this case a googly eye, to the glue dot.  Press it onto the glue dot, than peel off the embellishment and the glue dot together.  This is much easier and more efficient than trying to peel the glue dot off the paper strip and getting it stuck to your fingertips before you can adhere it to the embellishment.

Spider Trio

That’s it!

If you purchased some glue dots for making the spiders, you might want to try these Yummy Mummies: cheesecloth wrapped candy bars.  I went to the free weekly Craft Gym at Once Around last Tuesday mostly because I wanted to see if they had restocked orange chenille yarn to make more pumpkins.  I figured I’d also pick up googly eyes for making spiders.

The mummies are kind of a cute way to dress up a candy bag for Halloween but I think that most people who would be happy to get candy, wouldn’t care if it came done up as a mummy.

Mummies eye spider

I had cheesecloth at home and when one of the other crafters gave me some candy bars (I shared DIY tips and supplies for both Yarn Pumpkins and Silly Spiders), I decided to make some at home.

I used cheesecloth, scissors for fabric, an ink pad and a sponge, a distress dye stain (you only need one form of ink or dye – even a brown felt marker will work), googly eyes, adhesive, and thin candy bags like the Hershey’s in the photo.

Mummy supplies

When I picked up googly eyes for the spiders, I found these eye stickers by Jolee’s Boutique and grabbed a package. I’ll try them on some mini pumpkins.  You can also use a small circle punch and a hole punch to create eyes.

Cut a small nick one one side of the cheesecloth to get started, then tear several strips, about two inches wide. My fabric was 36 inches so my strips were 2 x 36 inches.  You can cut it if you prefer, but tearing it adds a great raggedy edge.

Fold up the strips and then sponge or smudge ink on the edges of the fabric.

Distress Inked Edges

When the ink or dye is dry, use a small glue dot or a bit of adhesive (directions at craft class said to use hot glue, but you’re likely to melt some chocolate that way), even double stick tape will work, and stick one end of the strip of cheese cloth to the back of one candy bar.

Wrap the bar, using several strips as needed, finishing with the end glued to the back of the bar.  Add eyes and that is it.

Yummy Mummies

To make paper eyes, I used a small circle punch, I think it is 1/2 inch, and a standard hole punch.

Making Eyes

I drew red veins on white paper and punch out two circles.  Using the smaller hole punch, make two smaller dots or circles.  I actually drew on the white paper with blue-grey marker and punched the irises from that. A black marker created the pupils. Foam dots adhered the eyes to the mummy.

Tied Eyes

I still think the spiders have the mummies beat (6 hands down) but with the right chocolate bar, I might be persuaded otherwise.

In the meantime, get your Orange and Black on and Go Giants!

Go Giants

Thanks for creeping by.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts

2 responses to “Silly Spiders and Yummy Mummies

  1. spiders are cute…prefer the 8 legged version…but, then I can be a realist at times…but, really like the mummies…easy and cute…and something I haven’t seen…

Leave a Reply

