Happy Halloween, 2014!

Two Pumpkins

Here are two of our carved pumpkins this year – I was doing the last one after work today, a bit last minute.  Buy I got it done before the first trick-or-treaters arrived.

Boosted Color Pumpkin

Earlier in the week I worked on this batch of pumpkins.  Rem picked up a package of glow-in-the-dark vampire teeth and I decided to use them in each one.  The pumpkins are on either side of the stairs coming up from the carport.  I used the plant holders from our patio as  way to display them.

Yawn

Because these pumpkins were right by the stairs, I decided not to put candles in them.  Instead I just carved out the mouth to insert the fangs and used black Sharpie and white correction pen for the faces.

Big Eyes

Snarl

Skull

Soul Patch

Crazed Smile

I also did a few embellished pumpkins after seeing this link to A Beautiful Mess on Pine & Plum.  This is a fun way to decorate pumpkins without carving.

Embellished Pumpkins

The spider web was done with black Sharpie. The white pumpkin had a pretty stumpy stem that became part of the spider with the application of some black acrylic craft paint.

Spider Web

Nailheads

Decorative upholstery nail heads worked well with this green and yellow pumpkin and they are easy to push in.

Glitter Pumpkin

I think the shape and color of this dusty-orange Cinderella pumpkin looks great with a topping of Mod Podge and copper glitter.  Mod Podge was used for the decoupage stem and also on the small orange mini pumpkin with the black and white checkered ribbon shown in the group picture of embellished pumpkins.

Green Rhinestones

I looked into my craft stash and found these green stick-on jewels. I used pins at the top to hold down the end of each strip, but the adhesive was strong enough to hold them on the rest of the way.  Some clear gems and a large-stick on pearl decorate the stem.

Next year I think I’ll come back to the embellished pumpkin idea.

Hope your Halloween was both happy and safe.  Thanks for stopping by.

Bloodshot Eye

 

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts

2 responses to “Happy Halloween, 2014!

  1. great ideas on all!…The upholstery pin one was pretty!

Leave a Reply

