Bad Day/Good Cookies

IMG_0227

Tuesday, January 20th, was the first day of the spring semester at College of Marin, where I work.  It is usually a very busy, stressful time with classes getting changed, students getting lost, and a good amount of panic, misunderstanding and poor communication.  By Friday, all I wanted to do was eat peanut butter and chocolate. For dinner.

IMG_0210

I know I ate something more sensible than that, though I don’t remember now what it was.  What I do remember is the cookies I baked after dinner. I’d enjoyed them at my friend Maria’s house on the Monday Martin Luther King holiday when we were crafting Valentine’s with her daughters and remembered their rich, crumbly peanut buttery goodness, loaded with chocolate chips.  Happily, Maria had the recipe on her phone and sent it promptly.

Maybe it’s just me, but I found it a little strange that Maria’s recipe came from King Arthur Flour and it is a no-flour recipe. It doesn’t matter though, because this recipe makes a wonderful cookie and I certainly didn’t miss the flour.

No-Flour Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

From King Arthur Flour (and Maria)

Ingredients:

1 cup smooth peanut butter (I didn’t have enough smooth peanut butter so used part creamy and part crunchy and they were delicious)

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

pinch of salt

1 large egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup chocolate chips (when I made them, I used a generous hand with the chocolate chips and felt it was a little too much chocolate for the peanut butter, so next time I’ll stick with the recipe as written)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Combine the peanut butter, sugar, baking soda and salt in a bowl and beat together with a mixer at medium speed, until well-blended.

Add the egg and vanilla, and blend on low-medium speed until incorporated.

Stir in the chocolate chips.

IMG_0213

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and scoop dough by rounded tablespoons (use a tablespoon cookie scoop if you have one – I don’t and just used a soup spoon), making them about the size of a walnut.

NOTE: I used natural peanut butter which the King Arthur site warned against as it makes a more dry, crumbly cookie.  The dough was very crumbly but I could scoop it with a spoon, gathering the crumbly dough and roll it in my hands to make balls.

IMG_0223

Press the top of the dough to flatten just slightly.  I forgot to take a picture until they were already in the oven but I didn’t press them down much.

IMG_0214

Bake the cookies for 8 to 10 minutes. Remove them from the oven, and cool right on the pan. The tops should be slightly crinkled. Pull them out before they begin to brown on the edges.

Yield: 20 cookies.

Less than a minute until the cookies are done.!

IMG_0215

I know that eating cookies isn’t the answer to stressful situations. I was also walking my 10,000 steps every day and I’m not going to get worked up about baking a batch of 20 or so cookies.

IMG_0216

Thanks for your visit. Here’s to good cookies AND good days.

IMG_0228

 

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts

2 responses to “Bad Day/Good Cookies

  1. Joan Stotko

    t time does your day start and end? How do you manage to get your 10,000 steps in each day?

    • It takes an effort to get my steps in. 3x per week I go to the gym at about 5:15 a.m. and walk on a treadmill (with an occasional short burst of jogging) for 20 to 25 minutes then do some strength training and stretching. I park my car around the corner and when I leave, I walk the other way, away from my car, then walk back and climb the stairs of a parking garage, and walk back down through the garage. 3 flights for the smaller, closer garage, 5 for the larger one that’s another block away. Two weekday mornings I usually take a 20 to 35 minute walk, leaving my house around 6:00 a.m. One evening I take a Jazzercise class after work and on Saturday I take a hike with my sister, usually over an hour. Sunday, another walk plus walking around the Farmer’s Market. At work I try and get some short walks (to the mail room or down to a nearby store) in or even around the halls and stairs in my building if the weather isn’t very welcoming. Sometimes I get in a quick walk after work while dinner is in the over of just 10 or 15 minutes.
      But…some days, like today, I didn’t manage much at all, no walks, no gym and just over 3,000 steps.

Leave a Reply

