Castle Card

IMG_0249

Along with making Valentine’s last week, I had a birthday card to make.  Not just any birthday card either, but a birthday card for a Princess.  What does every Princess need? A castle! So I made a castle-shaped card.

Although I saw several different castle cards on Pinterest, I didn’t find one that was fitting my mental picture, so I just sketched out what I wanted with a pencil, and starting cutting it out with scissors and an Exacto knife.

IMG_0240

This shows it unfolded all the way, which shows both the front of the card with the big medallion (sticker) on the front door, but also the birthday greeting on the inside

IMG_0244

The flip side includes a strip of vellum on the far left  (it added stability to the tall tower).  When the card is folded, the doors open to reveal “Welcome!”

IMG_0254

IMG_0239

It was fun using little scraps of paper for the turrets and rooftops, and than using different pens to add even more details.  Sparkly glitter tape is perfect for a banner on either side of the entrance.

To go with the Castle Card, I made a little garland of needle-felted wool hearts in ombre shades of blue.

IMG_0232

IMG_0251

A few years ago, this is the  card I made for this friend:
IMG_0029

Thank you for taking time to stop by.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts

2 responses to “Castle Card

  1. you do have this art form down…both cards are extraordinary to me!

Leave a Reply

