Rosemary Gruyere Crackers with Sea Salt

IMG_0368

While Rem and I were on vacation, we enjoyed trying out some new recipes. These tasty little nibbles are from The Smitten Kitchen cookbook and they’re delicious. Deb Perelman calls these crisps but I think cracker is more clear.  They’re really a grown up Cheez-It.

I made a second batch earlier this week to take to a party and they were a big hit. When I made them at Sea Ranch I only had a plain pizza cutter  to cut the dough but I used a fluted pastry wheel to cut them at home which makes for a prettier, more decorative edge.  Sadly, I didn’t get any pictures of those ones.

Rosemary Gruyere and Sea Salt Crackers (or Crisps)

From The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook, Deb Perelman

1.5 cups coarsely grated Gruyere cheese (6 oz.)
4 tablespoons (or 1/2 stick) butter
3/4 cup all purpose flour plus more for rolling out
1 teaspoon finely minced fresh rosemary (I think I used closer to 2 teaspoons)
1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt plus more for sprinkling (I didn’t add any salt to the dough, just sprinkled it on top)
IMG_0323

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Combine ingredients in food processor pulse and until mixtures becomes coarse, craggy crumbs (I thought it looked kind of like cooked cous-cous).

IMG_0329
Dump it onto a big piece of plastic wrap, press it together into a ball, then flatten into loose, thick square.
IMG_0330
Chill for 15 to 20 minutes so it is slightly firmed up.
On floured surface roll out dough to about 1/8 inch thick.  The shape doesn’t matter.
IMG_0332
IMG_0339
Cut into about a 1 inch by 1 inch grid using a fluted pastry wheel.  You can also cut with a pizza cutter a knife.
Dock each cracker in the center with a skewer or knife point.
IMG_0340
Dab with water and sprinkle with sea salt. When I baked my second batch I used flaky Maldon sea salt which worked beautifully.
IMG_0357
Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, until light brown on ends (I put parchment paper on baking sheets)
IMG_0358
Put baking sheets on rack to cool.
IMG_0364
These keep well in a cookie tin.
Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

