Art Journal: Backlog

IMG_0242-001

I’ve gotten behind on posting photos of Art Journal pages I’ve made.  I try to share them as I make them, but don’t always manage to do that. Let’s catch up, shall we?

Untitled, 8/11/13

This was inspired by a picture on Pinterest and when I followed the link, I found My Flower Journal, Tammy Northrup’s blog with beautiful splattered painting art.

IMG_0356-001

Tiny flowers are punched from textbook pages, painted different colors and glued onto a gesso and acrylic painted page. The meadow is made almost entirely from splattered paint dots.

IMG_0355-001

I used black and white pen to add details to the flower stems and leaves.

IMG_0357-001

Leap of Faith, Date Unknown (early 2014)

I don’t remember where I found this wonderful quote, but I love it!

IMG_0228-001

I’ve had this picture, torn out of magazine, for ages. It works well with the quote, don’t you think?

IMG_0229-001

A man in a flying machine along with some definitions torn from the dictionary and I had a page.

IMG_0230-001

IMG_0231-001

Bendy Bodies, Date Unknown (early 2014)

Mostly from Athleta ads torn from magazines.  I have a very inflexible body but I’m fascinated by the strength and flexibility shown in these pictures.

IMG_0233-001

Collaged Hills and Mountains, Date Unknown (early 2014)

I probably didn’t share this before because I’m a little ambivalent about it. This was the inspiration.  I don’t think mine was as effective.  White space at the top would probably have helped, and sharper images with greater contrast.

IMG_0239-001

Leaf Forms, August 4, 2014

Sometimes I look through my collection of ephemera (housed in a variety of plastic zippered sleeves, a tin box, a large basket and a shoebox) and find items that go together.  Maybe I’ve had one piece for a long time and I see something else and remember that first one and know they will work well together.  Other times I just start working on a page without really knowing where I’m headed.

The end result may be what I set out to create or something that I worked on layer by layer and bit by bit until it seems finished. For this page I wanted to use the large leaf skeleton on the right, so I looked for things that would go with it. But don’t ask about that #13, because I really don’t know how it ended up here, but it did, and I like it.

IMG_0242-001

IMG_0243-001

IMG_0244-001

IMG_0246-001

Our Lady of the Roses, October 10, 2014

IMG_0262-001

IMG_0263-001

I’ve had this picture of a stained statue for a long time.  When I embroidered a feather to use on a page the month before, I started looking for other images that would work with embroidered embellishment.  I needed to add a fold down flap to the page to have enough space to fit this in my journal.

The title has faux stitching made with dots of black ink joined by slightly curved lines made with a teal marker.

IMG_0261-001

I added a halo with embroidery floss.

IMG_0264-001

Dia di los Muertos, October  11, 2014

IMG_0266-001

I saw a project to do with kids using copied photos of their own faces (copy photos on copier, increase to approximately life-sized if photo is smaller), painted into a Dia di los Muertos mask.  I just pulled a picture from an ad in a magazine and created my own. I liked how the glamorous model became anonymous under the layer of paint.

IMG_0265-001

Sunday, October 12, 2014

At Sea Ranch I sit and watch the ocean and sky out the window.  This is an attempt to capture what I love to look at.

IMG_0268-001

IMG_0269-001

Blue Décollage, March 4, 2015

This page is from an exercise in The Collage Workbook, How to Get Started and Stay Inspired by Randel Plowman.

The exercise is to create a collage by layering pieces of paper on top of each other and the before the glue sets, tearing off the top layers to reveal what is underneath. As is typical, I reread the directions and examined the photos in the book more carefully after trying out the method.  I realized I started with too many small pieces, but it was an interesting process and I may try it again.

IMG_0184-001

IMG_0185-001

IMG_0186-001

Font, March 4, 2015

Another exercise from Mr. Plowman’s wonderful book on collage; he calls this one Typography and directs you to construct a collage using type from magazines or newspapers.

IMG_0187-001

IMG_0188-001

IMG_0189-001

Disconnected, March 8, 2015

Another page of typography.  In this one I tried to create new patterns and shapes from the pieces of letters I cut apart.

IMG_0190-001

IMG_0191-001

IMG_0192-001

IMG_0193-001

Thank you for visiting.

IMG_0245-001

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Art Journal Pages, Crafts

4 responses to “Art Journal: Backlog

  1. violetannie63

    Lovely pages 🙂 My favourite is the flower meadow – so pretty!

  2. Love your work, as usual. Epecially the typography one … Gotta try it!

    • Nice to see you again. I can imagine typography would be right up your alley. I’m impressed with your black out poetry. I tried that and really struggled! Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

