Art Journaling: Vacation Roadtrip

IMG_0295

I thought I was the only one who made a visual packing list until one day I saw this on Pinterest.

It just works for me to have a visual reference.  Now I can update the list: I crossed off a pair of  yoga pants I decided not to pack and I accidentally left the sports bra at home. Do you make a packing list? Have you ever sketched your packing list?

IMG_0297

IMG_0299

I put this page together in our motel room in Ukiah.  I added color later. Even though I walked on other days, this was the last day I made note of my steps.

IMG_0300

IMG_0301

I have a date stamp that has about a dozen phrases that I can stamp with the date.

IMG_0302

After the first two spreads, I didn’t manage to do daily journaling. I carried my (big) bag of art supplies into what ever motel we were staying in, but these were actually done during the second half of the trip when we were at Sea Ranch.

IMG_0305

I got the idea for this spread from an old issue of Cloth Paper Scissors.  Awas an article by Jacqueline Newbold described preparing a watercolor art journal before a trip. Lay artists tape out to divide your page, paint a background across all the resulting squares and rectangles and then when you are on your trip, you have a grid ready for both artwork and space for text.

IMG_0306

In my case, I’m journaling in a re-purposed book and I’ve used gesso to cover over the text and prep my pages. I used washi tape to make a grid and painted a watercolor background. But the washi tape pulled up the gesso in some pages.  I also need to do more research on what black pen will write on the gesso.

As we drove along the Avenue of the Giants, I was humming and even singing “This Land is Your Land.” So of course I wanted to include that in my page from that day!

In spite of the challenges, I was very pleased with how these pages turned out.  I collected free maps and newsprint guidebooks that are given away because they’re loaded with ads. But they’ve also got some photos that I was happy to use in my journal.

IMG_0307

This spread has some paper from my stash as well as washi tape.  I also used a new circular date stamp I picked up at Scrappers Edge in Eureka.

IMG_0310

IMG_0309

IMG_0308

I used some of these new materials from my shopping haul at Scrappers Edge on my next spread.

IMG_0151

These are my favorite pages from our trip.

I used ink sprays, embossing powder and gold Mica Gilded Fragments from the Stampendous Frantage Encrusted Jewel Kit, and some of the stencils.

IMG_0312

IMG_0314

IMG_0315

Heart Bead in Arcata has a beautiful business card that I used on this spread.  I didn’t find any new treasures but I enjoyed looking through the store.

IMG_0316

My last two-page spread represents an overhead view of a flight of beer, and the names of the different breweries we visited.

IMG_0317

There’s the new circular date stamp again.

IMG_0319

I stenciled the background and wrote in the names of the brew pubs.

Inexpensive number thickers from Dollar Tree and letters cut out from a travel brochure combine in the page title.

IMG_0318

Thanks for coming along.

4 Comments

Filed under Crafts

4 responses to “Art Journaling: Vacation Roadtrip

  1. Diane Miller

    Dianne, just love your creativity!😀

    • Thanks, Diane! I’m contemplating a 30 day art journal project for the month of July. I’ve enjoyed daily challenges but they really do take a big commitment and time, which I never seem to have enough of.

  2. you know I love it…but, probably too time consuming for me right now…

Leave a Reply

