Day 2: 30 Day Journal Project

IMG_0023-001

“When you do things from your soul, you feel a river moving in you, a joy.” ~ Rumi

I started with different river pictures: an aerial photo, a drawing from a calendar of the River Thames, a magazine picture of a bridge over a peaceful river, another picture from a calendar of a section of the Merced River in the Yosemite valley in winter, and a section of map showing the Merced River. I pasted these on my page and added “Day 2” with the date.

IMG_0008

Next I used some white acrylic paint to tone down some of the yellow and pink in these pictures. I layered on some tissue paper as well.

IMG_0009

Then I really got into it and forgot to take any more in-progress photos.

I collaged on some beautiful marbleized paper, rich in blues, teals and purple with black and gold, and started adding paint: first some almost white that I added teal spray ink to bit by bit and made big swooping curves.  Then with a smaller brush and more teal ink I added darker edges to the swoops. Finally, I took a small paintbrush and some watercolor paint in shades of blue and green, I dripped paint on and tipped the book every which way to let the paint roll down the page.

IMG_0012-001

Gold ink and music washi tape finished the page.  I added some journaling with a paint pen, and the quote with gel pen.

IMG_0025-001

IMG_0026-001

IMG_0022-001

The lighting isn’t great and it is late, but I’m very pleased with this process and the result.

Edit: Here’s a picture taken in daylight. To my eye, the page is somewhere between the two – the gold shows up a bit more than in the photo below, but not as much as the pictures above.

IMG_0028-001

About the #30DayJournal project here.  I appreciate your visit and comments.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30DayJournal, Art Journal Pages

Leave a Reply

