Day 9: 30 Day Journal Project

IMG_0009

“80 percent of life is just showing up.” ~ Woody Allen

Here it is, 7 minutes until midnight on July 10 and I’m trying to post pictures from July 9. I got behind and skipped yesterday, so did it today. But I also decided to sleep in, take a long walk, read my new PEOPLE magazine and have a very leisurely morning.

IMG_0010

In the afternoon I worked on this page, but was a little distracted.IMG_0001

Rem and I had the pleasure of puppy-sitting Stella for awhile this afternoon, and though I worked on my page, I couldn’t resist some puppy time.

Two artists participating in this #30DayJournal inspired my page today. Shari Adkisson and Lisa Flanders Fowler both posted variations on black-out pages. One did a collage with black Sharpie over it, revealing some of the collage in letters sketched on top, and the other used crayon covered in India ink then scratched to reveal the colors underneath.

IMG_0006

It is a variation of art projects we all probably tried in grade school! I did mine using crayons (which took more time than I anticipated), black markers and black watercolor paint.

IMG_0007

The black watercolor took a few coats to get the crayon covered.

IMG_0011

Although I understood the thought behind the quote, you need to practice every day consistently whether it is your piano lessons, your writing, your workout or whatever. I had something a little different in mind.

I thought about how in scary or sad situations, when there doesn’t seem to be anything else to do, we show up and try to do our best.  I guess, in a way, it really is similar to what Woody was talking about in the quote. Life can be a challenge, and we don’t know what is going on with those around us.  It is best to treat ourselves and each other with respect, love and tenderness. Did you catch how I included “ourselves” in there? We need to practice every day and be consistent and determined in this practice of loving and tenderness.

A post I wrote when my brother was critically ill came to mind, it is here. I’m very happy to say, for those who don’t know, My brother, Beau, is doing well.

I’m pleased to have tried my hand at the technique I used but it was too much head and not enough heart creating for this page. I didn’t know how to convey my “just show up” variation in the page, so used a technique I wanted to try.

Thanks so much for the visit.

IMG_0169

2 Comments

Filed under Crafts

2 responses to “Day 9: 30 Day Journal Project

Leave a Reply

