Day 12: 30 Day Journal Project

IMG_0059

“Flow with whatever may happen and let your mind be free. Stay centered by accepting whatever you are doing. This is the ultimate.” ~ Chung Tzu

This was a pleasure to create for the #30DayJournal project. I found a picture in my stash of magazine pages of an art installation by Tara Donovan. I’ve had the photo for awhile and love the curves and light. I thought it might be a window until I looked up more information.

IMG_0060

She does site specific art installations using everyday items like toothpicks, buttons and plastic cups. The work in the picture made from sheets of plastic film, like Mylar. I used this page as a cover for my journaling. Not that it was so private, but because I didn’t think the sloppy handwriting added to the page.

The prompt I was writing in response to was “I have trouble accepting…”

IMG_0065

On the other page I imitated the curves from Donovan’s work, using some of my new Pitt pens that I got at Riley Street Art Supply in San Rafael. I’m enjoying these pens and wanted more colors.

IMG_0061

I had a really great day including the visit to the art supply store, two walks (got in my 10,000 steps, yay!), grocery shopping, a nap, juicing for breakfast and lunch than a delicious dinner of corn on the cob with lime, chili and salt, baked butternut squash with cinnamon, and sauteed mushrooms. Oh, and plenty of time creating in my art journal!

IMG_0062

After the ink-seepage situation from Day 10,

IMG_0041

I decided to glue a strip of white paper down to cover the ink and reinforce the pages.

Something I’m learning with this daily project: how I’ve avoided my craft desk in the past when it is piled with supplies. I don’t want to take time away from the creating to put stuff away and I let it get out of hand. How fitting that today I journaled on “I have trouble accepting…” because I have trouble accepting that I need to clean up after myself when I craft (well, always, but this has been a problem area).

I decided that to successfully get through these 30 daily journal entries, I would really need to keep my work space in order. I’ve made a point of putting things away when I finish each page and…I love it! It’s a joy to see my desk ready and waiting for creativity to flow. It’s my plan to keep up this practice. That and stay centered.

Thanks for the visit.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30DayJournal, Art Journal Pages, Crafts

Leave a Reply

