Day 14: 30 Day Journal Project

IMG_0087

“Water does not resist. Water flows. When you plunge your hand into it, all you feel is a caress. Water is not a solid wall, it will not stop you. But water always goes where it wants to go, and nothing in the end can stand against it.

Water is patient. Dripping water wears away a stone. Remember that, my child. Remember you are half water. If you can’t go through an obstacle, go around it. Water does.” ~ Margaret Atwood

IMG_0091

Today is the end of two weeks of the #30DayJournal Project. I read the quote and the prompts and thought, at first, I wanted to use lots of different water words (wet, splash, surge, pour), but when I started writing, I imagined obstacles as rocks in a stream or river.

During my lunch break I made lists of obstacles words and flow words. I started to draw words as rocks but that wasn’t going very well, so I typed up the list.  After dinner I cut out the obstacles words first.

IMG_0078

Next I glued them in place and started using watercolors to make them into rocks, in my flowing stream.  My flow words came next and once they were arranged, I painted the stream.

IMG_0082

IMG_0090

In addition to watercolors, I used gel pens, white pen, colored Pitt markers some dimensional adhesive to put some shine on certain areas.

IMG_0088

IMG_0085

As I worked on the page, I noticed that obstacles have bigger, bolder fonts but the flow word are part of the whole river, the full flow. But the flow is just going around and over them.

This was an interesting process for me today.

Thank you for coming on over.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30DayJournal, Art Journal Pages, Crafts

Leave a Reply

