Day 17: 30 Day Journal Project

IMG_0139

“Contemplate the workings of this world, listen to the words of the wise, take all that is good as your own.

With this as your base, open your own door to truth. Do not overlook the truth that is right before you.

Study how water flows in a valley stream, smoothly and freely between the rocks. Also learn from holy books and wise people.

Everything—even mountains, rivers, plants, and trees—should be your teacher.”  ~ Morihei Ueshiba

IMG_0141

The message today is about how everything can  be your teacher. I read the quote, above, and the first thing that caught my eye was “open your own door to truth.”  I knew I wanted to include a door in my page!

Aperi Ostii Sui Veritatam: Open the Door of Truth.

IMG_0142

My teachers include paying attention to others works and to the world around me. Looking online (hello, Pinterest) and in magazines and sometimes books is something I do often. That is represented by the bookshelves in this page.

IMG_0144

But my truth and what I’ve learned is that I need to figuratively go through the door, out of the library and play in the garden! Which is to say, I need to get the paint out, sit at the desk, tear up some paper and get my fingers sticky with glue.

IMG_0150

Thank you to one of my teachers: Virginia Simpson-Magruder, of Kentucky Girl Designs and her wonderful Altered Book workshops. Her studio is a blooming garden of abundant, colorful flowers in the way of pens, inks, paints, rubberstamps, magazines, etc. and her class was a delight!

IMG_0146

IMG_0145

IMG_0147

Thanks for following along with the #30DayJournal project.

3 Comments

Filed under 30DayJournal, Art Journal Pages, Crafts

3 responses to “Day 17: 30 Day Journal Project

  1. violetannie63

    I would love to step into a garden like that…

  2. Pingback: Day 18: 30 Day Journal Project | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

