Day 19: 30 Day Journal Project

IMG_0177

There is a fountain of youth: it is your mind, your talents, the creativity you bring to your life and the lives of people you love. When you learn to tap this source, you will truly have defeated age.” ~ Sophia Loren

This #30DayJournal project was a real struggle today, and I don’t know why! I wasn’t feeling well this morning but I didn’t start on it until afternoon when I felt ok.

I was trying to figure out a way to depict a fountain but that wasn’t working in my head. Next I decided to play around with watercolor paints but I don’t know what I’m doing and wasn’t coming up with something I liked.

IMG_0171

The prompts were about ways I bring creativity into my life or tap into my creative fountain. I feel as if I’m a very creative person and thought this would be an easy page for me. Ha!

The other day, Rem gave me a great piece of paper ephemera: the receipt from when he visited the source of the Nile back in April 1998. The idea of the source of the Nile was something I wanted to include in this journal. I decided to make a collage and use that slip of paper.  The source of the Nile would be a good stand-in for the fountain of youth.  With that decision, I was able to move forward and create my page.

IMG_0178

It was only after I’d completed the collage and was finishing up the spiral that I made another connection with the quote for the day, from Sophia Loren, and the receipt: “learn to tap this source.”  The spiral is my journaling about the ways I bring creativity into my life and the lives of those I love.

The background stamp has some great words on it: share, experience, create, inspire.  I try to do that in this blog.

IMG_0175

A little side note here: the image of the two people with the rowboat is from a much larger picture from a calendar by papercut artist Nikki McClure, Nikki cuts her intricate pictures from a single sheet of paper with an Xacto knife, and her site is well worth a visit.

IMG_0169

Thank you for being part of my creative journey.IMG_0179

1 Comment

Filed under 30DayJournal, Art Journal Pages

One response to “Day 19: 30 Day Journal Project

Leave a Reply

