Day 20: 30 Day Journal Project

IMG_0184-001

Nothing is original.

Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination.

Devour old films, new films, music, books, paintings, photographs, poems, dreams, random conversations, architecture, bridges, street signs, trees, clouds, bodies of water, light and shadows.

Select only things to steal from that speak directly to your soul.

If you do this, your work (and theft) will be authentic.

Authenticity is invaluable; originality is non-existent.

And don’t bother concealing your thievery – celebrate it if you feel like it. In any case, always remember what Jean-Luc Godard said:

“It’s not where you take things from – it’s where you take them to.” Jim Jarmusch

I had a little problem with the quote for this page, and what seems like encouraging the reader to steal from other sources, but I decided it was more a matter of semantics, because I certainly look at other art, layouts and photos in magazines, Pinterest and the sites that I find linked to pictures I like, and copy (imitate, use, adapt) all the time.

IMG_0185-001

Although it wasn’t feasible to take any photos the day I did this page, I found some photos I’d taken previously to use and then borrowed the image in the sunset photo.

IMG_0188-001

I also copied the border that I’ve been admiring on artist Deb Weiers pages for this project.

IMG_0196-001

I think I learn to expand my own style and techniques when I try another persons work. I may not do it with the same skill or medium, but maybe it will help me to grown and learn and also to put my own spin on it.

IMG_0197

I can’t recall looking at nature as an inspiration for specific pieces of creative work, although I love being outdoors and love all the different things I see. From a wide open vista of sky and ocean, to an up close view of textured rock or driftwood in sand on a beach, or the peeling bark of a tree.

IMG_0189

I may come back to this idea and try my hand at actually copying some of these close-up images and using them in my art.

IMG_0201-001

Thanks for stopping by. Thank you also for your patience as I catch up on these posts for #30DayJournal – I’ve caught up on the artwork, and now just need to get them online! Check back again soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30DayJournal, Art Journal Pages

Leave a Reply

