Day 21: 30 Day Journal Project

IMG_0232

“Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it.

You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings.

And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it.”  ~ Elizabeth Gilbert

I went through my saved magazine pages seeking happy images and pulled a bunch out. These are the ones that made it to the first draft of the page, below.

IMG_0203

On the lower left is a box from a bar of chocolate, but it didn’t make it to the final page.

I do agree that happiness is, at least in part, a consequence of personal effort, as Elizabeth Gilbert writes. But for me, it is not something I have to fight for.

IMG_0234

Orange and blue are a happy color combination for me.

IMG_0233

On Day 21 I made a decision to take a walk in the morning rather than work on my page, and go to my choir rehearsal in the evening rather than work on my page. Although I didn’t want to fall behind on the #30DayJournal project, I wanted to take care of myself, both my physical and mental health.

IMG_0235

I have a peach-colored T-shirt that says “Do What Makes You Happy” with a cheerful sketch of a bicycle on it. Wearing it while shopping the other day, one of the store employees commented on it. She then turned her back to me and pulled her shirt away to show me a tattoo with the very same words! She explained that her best friend had a matching tattoo in the same place that said “Be With People Who Make You Smile.”

Those two phrases are really what helps keep me happy.  Doing things that I love to do around the people I love.

IMG_0237

I think Blue-Footed Boobies should wear blue bow ties more often.

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30DayJournal, Art Journal Pages, Crafts

Leave a Reply

