Day 22: 30 Day Journal Project

IMG_0206

“Be like water making its way through cracks.

Do not be assertive, but adjust to the object, and you shall find a way around or through it.

If nothing within you stays rigid, outward things will disclose themselves.

Empty your mind, be formless. Shapeless, like water.

If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle and it becomes the bottle. You put it in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now, water can flow or it can crash.

Be water, my friend.”  ~ Bruce Lee

This project has been fascinating and frustrating! I read the quotes and prompts and think about them and sometimes my response is is fairly quick. Other times, like today, I don’t know how to respond.

IMG_0216

What usually happens when I’m stuck is I set a kitchen timer and give myself 5 minutes to write. For this page I was stuck on the art part. I decided to set a timer and give myself 5 minutes to paint.

I made  a mess! I swirled blue paint around the page making sideways figure 8’s. Or, I realize as I write this, the symbol for infinity over and over. That was going ok but when I added some green I lost the shapes and it become murky. In frustration, I covered the page with paint. Art from head = not working!

However, once I looked at the green page I thought of a wide, turning river and started collaging that and things started to…well, flow.

IMG_0209

In fact, as has happened several times now, I experienced a few instances of serendipity. Opening a plastic envelope of blue  and green paper scraps, the little square printed with “Divine flow” was right on top and wanted to be included on the page.

IMG_0214

My writing tried to express how I felt stagnant when I set out on the page. Black and white zigzags on washi tape represent the static in my head when I try to empty my mind.

IMG_0217

As I was adding finishing touches I scanned a few torn-out dictionary pages, seeking a word to add by the river. “Living” is what presented itself. And another moment of unexpected rightness: it was only after I’d pasted the bit of paper onto the page that I read the full definition, which includes “gushing forth; flowing.”

IMG_0210

After taking the first photo at the top of the post, I added the words “journal/journey” as seen in the second picture. They are both derived from jour, French for day or daily, as in a day’s travel or daily writing. This journal project has been a journey for me. I appreciate you traveling along with me.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30DayJournal, Art Journal Pages, Crafts

Leave a Reply

