Day 27: 30 Day Journal Project

IMG_0285

“Be a lamp, or a lifeboat, or a ladder. Help someone’s soul heal. Walk out of your house like a shepherd.” ~ Rumi

IMG_0287

These lanterns are used in a ceremony of remembrance. Names of loved ones and messages for them are written on the sides of the lanterns.

IMG_0291

In my journaling for this page, I wrote about singing with other women in Threshold Choir. The choir sings annually at a Hospice Service of Remembrance as well as individual services throughout the year. But most of our singing is done in twos and threes, singing a cappella, at the bedsides of those people who are on the thresholds of living and dying.

IMG_0292

Our goal is to bring ease and comfort to those for whom we sing: people on the threshold and their loved ones and caregivers.

IMG_0288

“Andante con espressione” means at a moderately slow, walking tempo with expression.

IMG_0286

Yes, I know I wrote just yesterday that I would like to be more metaphorical in my images and here I am today using lamps to illustrate a quote about being a lamp.

But I already had both lamp pictures, and I especially love the floating lanterns. I’ve been waiting for just the right project for them.

IMG_0290

I looked through my paper to find background material for this page, using the sunset colors in the floating lantern picture.

When I came across “You are the light of my life” I tucked it into the pile to see if it would work on the page.

IMG_0289

Our apartment is on a corner and often in winter Rem will light candles that I can see in the window as I arrive home. In this and so many other ways, he is a lantern in my life.

IMG_0293

Thanks for checking out my page today. Only a few days left of #30DayJournal project!

 

1 Comment

Filed under 30DayJournal, Crafts

One response to “Day 27: 30 Day Journal Project

  1. really enjoyed this journal page…Isn’t it nice to have your own lantern!

Leave a Reply

