Salt Shaker Angel

20151219_070245

I am trying to focus on activities and holiday outings this year and spend less time (and money) shopping. As usual, I browse Pinterest for ideas and it’s where  I saw this cute recycled salt shaker angel made by Thuula at Thrifty Rebel Vintage.

With fingers crossed, I stop at the Goodwill and was very happy to snag a shaker for 99 cents. I then collected goodies from my craft supplies: beads, buttons, wooden head bead left from making clothespin doll ornaments, an ornament cap, paper, aluminum and copper tape, hot glue, glue pen, glitter and music-print scrapbook paper.

One of the angels Thuula made had a halo made from a key ring and I contemplated using wide gold ribbon for the wings, so don’t think my list of supplies is absolute.

20151219_070546.jpg

I unscrewed the top of the shaker and washed and dried it, then filled it with beads, buttons and a few glittery pom-poms. An ornament cap, left when a glass ball broke, made a lacy gold collar, which I hot-glued to the top of the glass salt shaker.

Although I have some old sheet music, I was glad to find a page of scrapbook paper with a music design. The old sheet music was too fragile to use in this project. I cut two wing shapes, one smaller than the other, than folded them accordion style. A glue pen and glitter added some sparkle to the wings and hot glue adhered them to the back of the angel.

20151219_070426

Fine-tipped markers worked on the wooden bead head to draw a simple face, and a double layer of card stock circles covered in triangles of aluminum and copper tape was hot-glued in place as a halo.

20151219_070329

A unique little angel for a friend who has a special place in her heart for all-things-angelic.

Thanks for stopping by.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts

One response to “Salt Shaker Angel

  1. She is sublime. Lucky friend! Happy Christmas and thank you for all your lovely posts from one of my favourite places, I really do enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

