Five Years of Blogging

IMG_0149

Yesterday marked my 5-year blogging anniversary. Five years! I also recently posted my 500th blog post. In that time, I’ve shared much more than I anticipated when I first started out. I thought it would be primarily crafts with a few recipes. In reality, it has also been about life, with all the heartbreaks and blessings.

I decided to scroll back through my blogs and pick out some favorites. It was the perfect activity to indulge in on a rainy day, nursing a cold.

It wasn’t easy choosing my best-loved posts. On another day I might come up with a different list. But I jotted down ones that were dear to me for one reason or another and then went back and selected these.

IMG_0247

I’ll start with these Heart Strings. I made them in 2012 and we still have them in our apartment. They’re an easy project and timely as well with Valentine’s Day a little less than a month away.

Chocolate is a winner for me, and so is Chocolate Nutella Fudge and Truffles.

IMG_0054

Art journaling is one of my favorite creative endeavors. I could have picked any one of my Art Journal posts, but I think this one, Art Journal: Home, is the one that deserves a spot here. It includes this quote by artist Darlene Maciuba-Koppel which is so true for me.

Art Journaling is a gift I give to myself.  After a few pleasurable hours of choosing images, painting, cutting scraps of paper, and pasting, I feel a sense of calm envelope me.

https://diannefaw.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/art-homes-rotated-01.jpg?w=500

Looking at the different crafts I chose, I’m putting these Little Clothespin Dolls next. I’m imagining that they could live in these little houses.

https://diannefaw.files.wordpress.com/2013/12/img_0127.jpg?w=500

A certain pasta recipe has made it’s way into two posts and been mentioned in at least a third. You really should make this pasta! It’s easy to put together and it is delicious.

IMG_0089

Some things don’t go as swimmingly as this pasta recipe; see the photo at the top of the post. I attempted to make chocolate bowls by painting melted chocolate on small balloons. Big, messy fail! I think we’re still finding splatters of chocolate on improbably far reaches of the kitchen ceiling.

Other times the rug is pulled out from under you in unexpected ways and you learn to exist in the new reality: Sometimes Life Just Piles Up.

IMG_0385

 

Sometimes, it’s just the desk piling up.

https://diannefaw.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/img_0012-0011.jpg?w=816&h=568

Something I come back to in my posts is taking care of myself; to be gentle with myself and with others. With that in mind, I think I will make a new batch of Take What You Need flyers and post them on campus for the start of the new semester.

IMG_0007

Sometimes what I need is a treat. And though I adore chocolate, a savory snack is often just the thing. Here are two: I’ve made these Cheese Wafers for a family holiday potluck and there was some disappointment this year when I brought something else.

IMG_0047

The other, Corn Dog Mini Muffins, are perhaps more lowbrow, but so good, especially with mustard, when you want a big ol’ deep fried corn dog and they’re a healthier choice too.

IMG_0159

So, there you have it: my favorite posts.

What I love most of all is sharing all of it with you. Having a blog means I am putting ideas and projects out there and readers all over the world are seeing them. That is amazing and wonderful.

Thank you for being on this adventure with me. Let’s see what 2016 brings.

IMG_0328

 

6 Comments

Filed under Crafts

6 responses to “Five Years of Blogging

  1. violetannie63

    Great posts – all of them. Happy Blogging Anniversary!🙂

    • Thank you! It was something to spend time looking back through them. I really appreciate your steadfast support and enthusiasm.

      I think many of them are too long, but I’ve thought that in the past and still put out long ones.

      • violetannie63

        I’m hopeless at NOT being verbose. I try to write really short posts but don’t succeed very often. You write just the right amount🙂 You write what you need to write – that’s what I figure, anyway. Thank you for five years of wonderful posts (long and short ones included!) x

      • What I think this means is we should both be more generous with ourselves. I know your posts to also be well written and just the right length, as needed for the topic. Thanks for the perspective.

  2. Fun to see the posts from the past and look back with you. Five years! How fast the time has flown!! (Still have my spoon rose and my pendant.) 🙂

Leave a Reply

