Choose Kindness: First Collage/Painting

20160408_211753

I’ve really been loving the Hello Soul, Hello Mixed Media Mantras e-course I’m taking. It is by Kelly Rae Roberts. There are loads of pictures and a video or two to watch in each section. We’re encouraged to choose an intention for each painting session. She makes suggestions in case you can’t come up with one. This one, “simply trust,” is from a song I sing with the Threshold Choir.

First we learned about and experimented with different paint techniques; ways to get paint on to the canvas (or for these practice pieces, I was using heavy watercolor paper) and to add texture and layers. I showed this in my last post.

20160405_065218

Then, surprise! We find out that these “practice” pieces are actually the ones we’re using for our finished paintings.  I didn’t get photos of the whole process – but I have taken a few more on other pieces I’ll share here soon.

Bits and pieces of paper are layered on the painted background with more paint going on the paper to blend it with the painted background. The final piece may not show all the stratified layers, but they are still a part of the finished piece.

20160413_120138

My background layer has the label from a delicious chocolate that was a gift from a friend, and part of a birthday card which adds lovely texture. Both add interest to the finished piece.

After the background is finished, our mantras are stamped onto the canvas. Finishing details are added with black and white ink. In this picture you can catch a glimpse of  a map on the right. Hearts are special symbols for me, so I included some.

20160413_120155

An old letter I picked up at a vintage store is visible above the lace.

20160413_120213

At one point, I collaged a page from a little calendar of birds but it wasn’t working. After I painted over it, I still wanted a bird, so choose to add one via a rubber stamp.

20160413_120208

Here is the whole piece. The paper has curled somewhat. I’ll either frame it or perhaps glue it to something a bit heavier.

20160413_120123

It was lots of fun to make. Most of the paint and collage work is done without brushes, so it is a messy, hands-on process. The scallops on the edges are created with painty fingertips.

Thanks for the visit. More mixed media mantra pieces soon!

20160413_120318

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Crafts

5 responses to “Choose Kindness: First Collage/Painting

  1. violetannie63

    Gosh – it is beautiful Dianne! Love it! I want to make one right now🙂

    • Thanks, Sam! I want to stay home every day and make more. In fact, I did just that last week: it was Spring Break on campus and I decided to take 2 days of vacation. I didn’t paint from dawn ’til dusk, but I did spend hours both days at my craft table. I still have another e-course to watch, but I’m going to paint & collage more of these before I get into the next one.

      • violetannie63

        Sounds good – I am on leave at the end of this week…looking forward to some lone crafting time!🙂

  2. karen byrne

    Thanks for some great ideas!

Leave a Reply

