Overnight Oatmeal

 

20160426_075028

Getting out the door in the morning shouldn’t be such a challenge for me. I don’t have kids, I don’t have pets and Rem helps me make my lunch for work. But the pull of just one more page of a book, or all too often Facebook, means I’m usually short on time.

Putting together no-cook oatmeal in the evening means breakfast is ready and waiting in the morning. For people who like grab-and-go recipes, you can assemble it in a mason jar to eat it at work. As the weather warms up, hot oatmeal is less appealing to me. I like the cool, creaminess of this version, but if you like a hot breakfast, this can be warmed in the microwave.

20160427_062022

The basics for the dish are rolled oats, Greek yogurt, fruit and milk. I like to include something sweet in it too, usually honey. Recently I’ve started adding ground flaxseed and some Trader Joe’s Super Seed & Ancient Grain Blend to boost the nutrition content. I’ve seen chia seeds in some recipes and I’m planning on trying a version which replaces half of the oats with quinoa.  Toasted nuts and coconut are both welcome toppings to add  just before eating.

20160419_210702

I saw the recipe on several sites and in magazine articles, but I think it was after reading The Yummy Life post with different flavors that I finally tried it myself, and I love it. Going back to get the link I realized I need to try some of Monica’s suggested recipes: Cocoa Banana sounds delicious. She also writes about the many variations she and her readers have tried, such as gluten free oats, almond milk, coconut milk, agave syrup, and maple syrup, as well as yummy additions like peanut butter, vanilla, cinnamon and coconut or toasted nuts, which are easy to sprinkle on just before eating.

When I make it, I don’t usually measure the ingredients, just grabbing handfuls and eyeballing as I go and each time it comes out a little different. But I took a few more minutes to measure it out so I could share it with you.  I will also include some notes at the end for making it using steel cut oats.

20160419_210747

Overnight Oat
Adapted from The Yummy Life and Real Simple Magazine

Ingredients (1 serving)

1/3 cup rolled or quick cook oats

1 tablespoon Ancient Grains Cereal Blend or Chia seeds (optional)

1 teaspoon ground flax seeds (optional)

1/3 cup Greek yogurt (I love Fage brand and the whole milk yogurt is delicious in this dish)
(I use 1/2 of a single serving tub. Different brands of yogurt are different sizes, so don’t sweat it if you have a little less or a little more than 1/3 cup. It should be fine.)

drizzle of honey (optional)

1/2 to 3/4 cup fruit, such as frozen blueberries

1/3 cup milk (I use 2%, but use what you like)

2-3 tablespoons toasted pecans or almonds, or shredded coconut (optional, added just before eating)

Directions:
In a bowl or pint-sized jar, layer the ingredients in order: oats on the bottom, any other grains or seeds you are using, yogurt, honey if using, fruit and milk. Some recipes direct you to stir or shake all the ingredients into a homogenized mixture, but I prefer having the variation of ingredients in each bite. I do poke a spoon or chopstick down through the frozen fruit, yogurt and into the oatmeal a few times to make sure the milk finds it’s way to the oats.

20160419_210943

20160419_211326

I use the frozen fruit right from the freezer without defrosting it first. It hasn’t make a difference.

20160419_211411

20160419_211635

Cover dish or jar and put in the fridge overnight.

20160419_211929

The next morning, the oatmeal is ready to eat!

20160420_075855

The first two times I tried this with steel cut oats, it was much too chewy for me to enjoy. A little online research and two trail runs later and I’m happy with it.

Overnight Oatmeal with Steel Cut Oats

Ingredients:

Same as in first version with these changes:

1/3 cup steel cut oats to replace rolled oats

1/2 cup of milk to replace 1/3 cup milk

Directions:

Combine oats and 1/3 cup of the milk in a microwave safe bowl or jar and heat in microwave for 1 minute. (If you use the full amount of milk, it may spill over in microwave.)

Remove bowl or jar from microwave and stir, than let cool on counter for 30 to 60 minutes. Add yogurt, honey if desired, fruit and remaining milk. Cover and refrigerate as in original recipe.

20160427_062110

I tried this with both a bowl and a jar and found the mixture in the jar soaked up all the liquid and even after a second night in the fridge, the one in the bowl was still a little milky.  They are quite similar and I found both to be quite tasty; I would be happy with either. But I admit I prefer the more tender texture of the rolled oats to the steel cut oats.

Thanks for stopping by.

20160427_062127

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

May 1, 2016 · 9:11 pm

5 responses to “Overnight Oatmeal

  1. violetannie63

    Yum – have been meaning to make this for ages. Will try it now – you’ve inspired me🙂 Especially good for me who is always running late in the mornings and often take my brekky to work…

    • Oh, I hope you try it. I just fixed a bowl to eat for breakfast tomorrow. This one has frozen strawberries instead of blueberries and I thought I’d try some strawberry jam instead of honey. Looking forward to seeing how it turns out!

  2. Nancy C Faw

    I’m going to try it!

Leave a Reply

