Believe in Yourself

20160516_195719

This blue mantra painting was created for my friend, Laura, as a birthday gift.  She has gone back to school and was feeling a little apprehensive about quitting her job.

20160516_195513

She is studying Chemistry so I wanted to include some things related to that and also to remind Laura that she really is amazing, marvelous, smart and funny. Especially funny. I love spending time with her because we usually find something to laugh about.

20160516_195532

I’m also continuing to love crafting these pieces. There are layers that don’t show in the finished painting but are still part of the process and the piece. I really enjoy getting my fingers into the paint and gel medium, smoothing pieces of paper, layering them over each other; scraps from a textbook pages, bits torn from inside of an envelope, and seeing what they will become.  It’s messy and I have to stop every so often to rub the dried goo off my fingers, but I love every minute of it.

20160516_195518

Believe in yourself. It’s a good mantra for me as I continue to play, explore and learn this combination of collage and painting. It’s a good mantra for Laura too.

Thank you for your visit.

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Crafts

7 responses to “Believe in Yourself

  1. Beautiful and so thoughtful.

  2. violetannie63

    Dianne, I am loving all your collages – they are beautiful. I particularly like this one because blue is my favourite colour. Your friend is very lucky🙂

  3. A very beautiful piece, I love it!🙂

Leave a Reply

