Shine

20160620_102348

Shine, so we can light up each others lives.

This is my second angel painting. I’m really delighted how she turned out.

I was inspired to paint her for one of my friends and colleagues who recently achieved tenure. The words were ones she had written on her Facebook page and they seemed so wise and perfect to use in this painting.20160620_102500

Dayna is an Geography instructor so I used bits of old maps in her dress, including ones from England, Italy, Japan and several state maps in the US: Colorado and North Carolina.

20160620_102507

The statement certainly seems true of Dayna, who shines and lights up lives around her.

20160620_102448

I was so excited about giving it to her but I had to be patient because at the start of the summer she was participating in a Field Study course at Yellowstone, then had a bad cold, then took a week off to enjoy a stay in the Sierras.

The painting, which I was calling “Saint Dayna”, stayed on a shelf in my office, waiting for the real Dayna to come and get her. I liked having her there but was even more excited to give her to Dayna.

This is from her Facebook page after I gave her the piece. She was really pleased.

Taking Kelly Rae Roberts Spirit Wings e-course has been such a pleasure. I haven’t completed it yet, but I have got two more angels painted and ready to share. Well, one done and one almost done.

20160620_102527

Thanks for stopping by. 20160620_102421

7 Comments

Filed under Crafts

7 responses to “Shine

  1. I love not just the way your angel looks but also all the choices you made so she is really Dayna.

  2. violetannie63

    Ok, you need to stop being so amazingly talented now – you’re making the rest of us look bad🙂 She is gorgeous – your best work yet x

  3. A gorgeous piece, you have created such beauty in her expression and I love the sentiment you have used, perfect! J🙂

  4. Pingback: Be Kind | dianne faw

Leave a Reply

