Blue Haired Mermaid

20170115_105105

When I started this piece, I didn’t have any image in mind. I started by collaging around the sides, leaving space in the middle for a face. Most of the collage elements were eventually covered but they’re still part of the process and add texture.

Next, I started on her face. Coming back to work on it fresh one evening I had this clear thought “I’m going to give her blue hair!” You could say it came out of the blue.

20170115_105134

After I finished her blue hair, I decided she just might be a mermaid. So I put bubbles into her hair and added a seahorse and a fish.

20170115_105126

I noticed that some of the textured paper I used in the collage looked kind of like a sand dollar, so I used paint to enhance it.

20170115_105119

I decided to extend the collage and paint onto the edges of the canvas board. I was so pleased with how it turned out that I went back to an earlier piece and did the same thing.

20170119_131139

20170119_131324

The little snippet of music includes the lyric “…found me…”. Love that.

No mantra has occurred to me yet. I love her wild blue hair and her strong, steady gaze. She speaks to the Pisces in me.

20170119_131351

For now she is in my office, on a shelf over my computer, so I see her all the time. She looks at everyone who comes into the office.

As always, I appreciate your visit.

20170119_130924

1 Comment

Filed under Crafts

One response to “Blue Haired Mermaid

  1. Julie Galliani Manso

    Totally awesome!!!!

Leave a Reply

