Little Paper Houses

IMG_0120

When it comes down to it, I’m a big homebody.  I enjoy the warmth and simple pleasures of home.  I haven’t traveled that much but loved it when I did, but I also am very happy to come home. Maybe that’s why I’m drawn to these sweet Little Paper Houses, and my recent Art Journal: Home page.

I made these for my mom for Christmas.  I know it’s it’s a little late but these are too cute not to share. They have battery operated votive lights inside so they are really house-shaped Luminaries.

IMG_0126

I saw them on Cathe Holden’s fabulous site Just Something I Made. She has several variations, but these ones with vintage-style paper and button embellishments were what caught my eye.

IMG_0118

I enjoyed changing things up a little bit by using different paper for the walls and roofs, cutting different windows and doors and using different embellishments.

IMG_0092-002

I found another site (Little Glitter Houses) that had a pattern for a steeple.  The first one I made for a friend was a little bit too large in scale for the rest of the building.  I also cut the slot for the roof a bit too wide so the steeple was a little wobbly.  Luckily it was only made of paper so it wouldn’t have hurt anyone in the case of an earthquake.

IMG_0089-002

IMG_0093-002

I scaled it down a little and my second church worked out better.  I still think there’s room for improvement but for now I’m finished with paper house construction.

IMG_0128

Little clips on the roof of each house come off to give access to the votive light.  I included embellishments on the back of the buildings as well.

IMG_0123

My initial trial didn’t work out because I made the mistake of using double-sided paper.  Unfortunately, it hadn’t occurred to me that when you put a light inside, both sides of the paper would show through.  But I’m very happy with these completed Little Paper Houses.  I’m also content to be at home, crafting and writing blog posts about it.

Thank you for coming over to see my post.

IMG_0125

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Crafts

5 responses to “Little Paper Houses

  1. cat

    They look gorgeous ! Good tip about the double sided patterned paper.

    • Thanks so much! I usually prefer double-sided paper. After all, you get two papers in one. But it was the wrong thing for this project. Of course, I’ll use it for something else.

  2. just so cute…love all of them…and being lighted…how neat is that!

  3. Diane Powell

    I love the little paper houses. So Cute. I will have to try and make some.

Leave a comment