Listen to My Heart Song

20160625_170414

I’ve started my second e-course by Kelly Rae Roberts; this one is called Spirit Wings. This was the first angel I painted and I did it during our vacation. Every evening at the B&B or motel, I would get out my carefully-packed bag of art supplies and spend half an hour or 45 minutes immersing myself in the process of creating. It was wonderful!

This uses the same combination of collage and painting that we did in the first course, Hello Soul, Hello Mantra, and once again my primary tools are my fingers, so I really get into it: ripping, smearing, scraping, and smoothing.

20160611_084424

I followed along and it felt like a little magic to do shading and come out with a face that looks like a face.

20160625_170449-001

I am imitating and following the style of the artist and teacher, Kelly Rae Roberts but I will start to explore and develop my own style.

As I worked on her swirly hairdo and rosy cheeks, I knew who I wanted to give the painting to: my friend, Irene. She and I sing in the Threshold Choir and the pair of us sing together for clients every Saturday, singing at bedsides in care facilities.

 

20160611_084435.jpg

Irene is a poet and songwriter and we sing some of her songs in the choir. I thought I would use one of her song. The lyrics are: “In the quiet of this moment, I am at peace, all is well.” But every single time I worked on the angel, this other song was in my head.

I know Irene loves angels and decided I’d better listen and use the words I was hearing.

20160611_084500

Irene loved the painting, and I was delighted to have the opportunity to see it on the wall of her apartment, a cozy place with many, many angels, and now home to one more.

20160611_084413

Thanks for stopping by.

7 Comments

Filed under Crafts

7 responses to “Listen to My Heart Song

  1. violetannie63

    Oh my heavens – she is beautiful 🙂 I’m so jealous! You can do faces! (I can’t do faces – especially eyes!). Love it x

  2. Pingback: Shine | dianne faw

  3. Pingback: Be Kind | dianne faw

Leave a comment